Home

Black River Technical College Library
Pocahontas, Arkansas

Databases

Passwords are not needed for on-campus use of most of the following products; however, log-ins and passwords are needed for remote use.  EBSCOHost, JSTOR, Project MUSE, ProQuest, and SIRS contain full-text articles from thousands of periodicals (newspapers, magazines, and journals, etc.).   The Discovering Collection contains information from reference books; access always requires a password.   Encyclopedia Britannica gives BRTC students access to the most up-to-date information from a collegiate encyclopedia, and the FirstSearch WorldCat is especially good for locating books on particular subjects to borrow through interlibrary loan.   Granger's has approximately 200,000 full-text poems with accompanying information.  More and more databases now include BOOK information as well as information from periodicals - look carefully at options to find book information.  For a fuller description of the paid databases, click here.

EBSCOhost*

Granger's World of Poetry*

JSTOR (on-campus only)

Project MUSE (on-campus only)

ProQuest*

  SIRS*  

Discovering Collection* (Information from 22 reference titles/Always requires password)

  Encyclopedia Britannica*

Grolier Online Passport (on-campus only)

FirstSearch*

* For off-campus access, current students should contact the library for log-ins and passwords.

The following is a list of FREE databases/information sources that the BRTC Library recommends.  Note that the ones in red are BOOK SOURCES.

AGRICOLA

American Memory

Arkansas Publications Index

Bartleby.com (English & American non-fiction, fiction, and verse)

Bartlett's Book of Familiar Quotations

BibleGateway

Biographical Dictionary

BioMed Central

Digital Book Index (More than 116,000 digitized books, over half FREE)

DOAG (Directory of Open Access Journals)

Eserver.org: Accessible Writing (books & journals on scholarly topics)

Encyclopedia of Arkansas

Find Articles

Gale Literary Index 

GPO Access

Ingenta (Full-text/fee)

Information Please Almanac

Internet Archive (Digitized books)

Internet Public Library (more than 15,000 titles)

Literature for Children (over 500 children's literature titles, pre-1850 to post-1950)

Making of America Journals

MEDLINEplus

NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)

Newsweek

Online Books Page (more than 12,000 titles)

PubMed

PubMed Central

SCIRUS (scientific information)

Urban Dictionary

U. S. Politics & World News (news about current administration)

Wikipedia (Great for current topic discussion but user should verify the information with reliable sources!)

WorldCat (useful for ILL)

Home